The one with all the kids

After Golden week, it was time to go back to work. The Chinese have some silly theory that if you’ve had some extra days off (the days apart from the National Holiday that made it Golden WEEK) you need to compensate for this by working the next weekend. Meaning, we get back to work for 8 days without a break. It was a  pretty tough week, even tougher after that lovely week off…

Our accommodations were still a mess when we got back. Sigrid and I were still sharing a room, Charlie still had the occasional brick falling down and lack of electricity, and classes were abundant. No internet, no fridge, no tv or dvd… And teaching wasn’t aaaall that. Don’t get me wrong, I loved parts of it, but some days it was just so utterly demotivating (in my case Tuesdays and Thursdays, when I had chlorine class and we don’t wanna travel because we don’t wanna learn English-class). I had a hard time getting through to my oldest students, who weren’t the least bit interested in learning any English what so ever.

Wednesday October 14th Sigrid (my partner in crime) told me she was going to leave the programme. She had spoken to a friend that was staying in New Zealand and decided to hop down there to do something she’d enjoy more. I admired her courage and respected her decision, which also made me think a bit about what I was going to do. I wasn’t completely at ease with putting up with 12 more weeks of emotional rollercoaster rides, so I decided to take the weekend to think about it.

So I quit the programme too.

These pictures are the ones I took of my favourite kids the last 2 weeks before I left my school and went off on my own little adventure. Even though I’d just known them for 2 months, we got pretty close and I was kind of sad to leave them, knowing how hard it was on some… I’ll definitely go back and visit (:

Leave a Reply

