The one with the most intense four weeks ever

I said goodbye to my cosy, central hostel and went to the hotel around midday on July 30th, so I could leave my luggage there and have that over with. When I got to there, I realized it wasn’t any hotel. It was a quarantine hotel. Lovely. Even though I’d managed to spread my germs over half of Beijing, I was strongly discouraged from leaving the hotel. I couldn’t even get street food, but had to wait for dinner at 6pm. So I went to my room, complained to a bunch of people online and went to bed. When I woke up, it was way past dinnertime, and I only got to see some of the other TTC-participants before going to bed again.

7 days of temperature check at 7.30 & 15.30, breakfast, lunch and dinner containing almost the same kind of food and eventually also some class was quite a strain on my patience. Going from being completely free to being completely restricted was quite a change to adjust to, and I must admit I was quite grumpy the first couple of days. But eventually I softened up and started socializing, which turned out pretty good. Luckily we had a bar just outside the hotel to hang out at in the evenings, so all was good.

However, the real life began after the breakout. It’s just too much to tell, but it was great. We had two tour days where we visited the Great Wall, Summer Palace, Olympic City, Ming Tombs (BORING!), Pearl/Silk market, saw Chinese Acrobatics and ate Beijing Duck. During the week we had class from 8.30-16.00 which consisted mostly of learning how to teach English at different levels (we did play a LOT of games :). In our free time we went out, hung out, ate out, went shopping, did KTV or just chilled outside block 4.

Good times, good times indeed…

Graduation was a bittersweet event. We celebrated the fact that we did it (of course!) but were also sad that we would all part ways to leave for our placements in different parts of China. The German girls were all collecting everyone’s addresses and emails in little books, good friends were exchanging phonenumbers to stay in touch.

Some things you won’t remember, but the people you’ll never forget…

Tags:

Leave a Reply

