the ants go marching one by one

When I was teaching (English) in Shenzhen, China I had this brilliant idea for a lesson plan. I had this kids’ song on my computer – The ants go marching – and I thought it would be fun to teach the kids the song whilst practising numbers and positioning (one by one, two by two etc). First we went through the lyrics, then we got up and marched, and eventually we’d quickly reorganize ourselves according to the song. I tried this with my 3rd and 4th graders, and it was hilarious! Hearing them “sing” the song too was just hypnotizing. If there’s something my students knew how to do, it was marching. And be adorable.

Sometimes I’d like to go back and see them, just to say hello and hear those cute little voices chant “Good morning teacher!”

My lovely P3 class at SZOEC

Leave a Reply

